Someone Shoot Me!!

Today started out so good! I started the second mitten and got it done, and went down to the basement and started to felt them so I could have a nice pair of warm mittens, but the DAMN THINGS WON’T FELT!!!!! I am so mad right now I have put them threw the cycle 4 times and nothing is happening! I don’t know if I am doing something wrong, I know the yarn will felt it is Noro and Alpaca. Any suggestions would be helpful! Happy Knitting!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sedie
    Jan 24, 2006 @ 11:08:00

    oh no! I’m not sure how you’re felting but I felted the Fuzzy Feet by washing with a little bit of mild detergent and hot water. . . the rinse was cold. It could be that your hot water setting isn’t hot enough. . . hope that helps. Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Dani
    Jan 24, 2006 @ 11:19:00

    You can try shocking them – Boil some water, add it to the washing machine and then try a cold water rinse – that can shock them into felting – noro can be a slow starter!

    Reply

  3. Jenn
    Jan 24, 2006 @ 11:31:00

    Awww…I dont know anything about felting. But I did just get a book to try it 🙂 Hope the felt! 🙂

    Reply

  4. missemilysmom
    Jan 24, 2006 @ 16:01:00

    Why not try the dryer??

    Reply

  5. Nessie Noodle
    Jan 24, 2006 @ 18:40:00

    Mandy,
    i haven’t ever had this problem. are you sure the yarn you used wasn’t superwash?
    I agree, try boiling some water and putting them in there.
    I hope you get it going- that is just no fun!

    Reply

  6. ~Tonia~
    Jan 25, 2006 @ 00:31:00

    Use HOT water on the lowest water level setting your washer has, Add a few drops of hand soap, place mittens in a zip up pillow case together, make sure you are using something to agitate against them like some old jeans, towels or something like that. I hope that this helps. Good Luck!!

    Word Ver.. yipzy hahaha

    Reply

  7. ericah64
    Jan 25, 2006 @ 01:02:00

    I’d say to crank up your hot water heater as high as it can go (warn others in the house!), make sure you have it set for hot wash, cold rinse (needs the shock), and put ’em through on the longest cycle you have. Try the dryer on hot, too.

    Reply

  8. Soap Fiber Gal
    Jan 27, 2006 @ 09:04:00

    The noro I find does take a long time to felt but felts nicely! Have you tried to add a pair of jeans or two and put on the highest agitate cycle if you have that option.
    Hot/Warm or cold water
    They’ll felt!!! Don’t forget to add a little detergent Have patience!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

