Bad Day

I am having a real bad day, my hair started falling out last night not a little but a lot I have about half of the hair I did 2 days ago. It really sucks I didn’t think it was going to be as hard as it is. So I am just going to have Joe shave my head tonight! That way I don’t start crying when I have a big chunk of hair fall out!! …….Ok enough whining! I have joined yet another knit along to make the clapotis, I need something to keep myself busy! I am still mad at my mittens so I haven’t touched then for 2 days, I started knitting my Dad the Irish Hiking Scarf this is the first time I have done cables ever and I love it! I was always too scared that I would screw it up but it is so easy! I love the yarn and the way it is turning out. I need to get this and the baby blanket done by next weekend so they can go one with my mom. I hope that you like the color Dad! I am going to make another one I am just not sure what color. I also found out that Joe cousin is going to have a baby! So that mean another blanket. They don’t want to know what they are having so I am going to use a very pale yellow and a cream color I have the yarn picked out all I have to do is go buy it! I have until May to do that one so there is no rush starting it. Happy Knitting!!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MK Tiffany
    Jan 26, 2006 @ 15:08:00

    I am so sorry about your hair. But now think about all the cool hats you can wear!!! We should start a hat making KAL just for you. 🙂 I love hats. Anyway, great job on the irish hiking scarf. I have been very tempted to make one. Do you think it would look good in a varigated color of yarn? Would the cables show up? Hmmmmm.

    Reply

  2. Dani
    Jan 26, 2006 @ 16:22:00

    Sorry to hear about the hair Mandy but I am glad you are going shave your head – good plan! To0 bad it wasn’t March, you could do a St Baldrick’s event =)

    I got your package today and wanted to say THANK YOU SO MUCH for the yarn (which the man saw and said “oooooh cool!”) and the lovely stitch markers AND THAT CARD Is the cutest thing EVER! Posting pics on my blog.

    Reply

  3. Dani
    Jan 26, 2006 @ 16:25:00

    PS – Your IHS is GORGEOUS!! Great job!!

    Reply

  4. Sedie
    Jan 26, 2006 @ 18:07:00

    A hat knitting KAL in your honor would be a great idea! I’ll check back to see if you’ve decided to do that. . . your IHS is coming along wonderfully!

    Reply

  5. Becky
    Jan 26, 2006 @ 19:39:00

    Your cables look fantastic! Your dad will love it. It’s too funny…I have all the materials rounded up for the IHS and am going to start it in about a month. You can help me now!

    Sorry about your hair. I had half my hair fall out after surgery. It sucks no matter how much you expect it. Of course, I didn’t expect all mine to fall out like yours. Hugs to you. It is not easy and you are such a strong person about it all.

    If you want to have a hat-making KAL, I would be happy to host it if you don’t want to. Whatever will make it easier. Glad to see you are getting so much knitting done.

    Reply

  6. dreamcatcher
    Jan 26, 2006 @ 19:45:00

    A hat-making KAL sounds like a great idea. Sorry you are having a rough time.

    The IHS looks great 🙂

    Reply

  7. Ashley
    Jan 26, 2006 @ 20:10:00

    I love the yarn you used for the scarf…. it’s really pretty.

    Reply

  8. Lisa
    Jan 26, 2006 @ 20:51:00

    Sorry you had a bad day 😦 I would say that I would shave your brothers head so you could match, but we both know he’s allready there 😉 LOL
    That scarf is great. I need to finish the one I started like 2 months ago…ooops.
    Feel better soon!!!

    Reply

  9. weaselrina
    Jan 26, 2006 @ 23:08:00

    Your IHS is coming out beautiful!!

    Reply

  10. Soap Fiber Gal
    Jan 27, 2006 @ 09:05:00

    AWESOME!! I like the speckles of color in the yarn..Hope your feeling better soon and many wishes for much better days to come

    Reply

  11. ericah64
    Jan 27, 2006 @ 15:58:00

    Great scarf! I’m sure your dad will love it. If not, well, I wear a lot of scarves, and I’m partial to cables. ;->

    So sad about your hair. Make sure you have someone take pictures of the head-shaving event. Maybe you should get a tattoo on your head. When you’re all done with treatments and your hair grows back, it will get covered up and will be a special secret most people won’t know about. You could get a big ball of yarn & some knitting needles! I’d say a few nice, soft caps are in order….

    Reply

  12. knittyref
    Jan 27, 2006 @ 17:11:00

    Been there, done that, with the hair thing (3 times actually). It’s unnerving every time.

    Go ahead and have some fun (if you can call it that) with the no-hair thing. I now have a wide wardrobe of hats, scarfs, and wigs. My husband never knew who he was coming home to. My mother, on the other hand, would only let me wear 1 particular wig when we went out because she could never remember what I was wearing.

    The scarf is great. Good job on the cables.

    Reply

  13. Nessie Noodle
    Jan 27, 2006 @ 19:42:00

    Mandy-
    That scarf is AWESOME! the cables are so pretty. You are doing such a great job-
    I am sorry about your hair, ug you are a strong strong woman. Just think, now you can say,”I shaved my head once”.
    Maybe you can get hubby and kiddos to join you in shaving their hair too, so it feels like a “support-family thing”?
    Big Hugs to you as always, sending possitive healing thoughts across the country-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

