Swapping and some projects

I had some pretty great swaps one the knitty board this past week! This is the package I got from Soap Fiber Gal. We have some lovely Lorna’s Laces in Mixed Berry, some Jo Sharp in a old gold color, some green schachenmayr that will more than likely be socks for Chandler and last but not least some very lovely koigu kpppm. This is the first time I have held this wonderful yarn in my hands my lys’ don’t carry it I am going to see if I can change that! I have a sock otn right now. I am useing Lana Grossa cotton fantasy in pinks and purples and it’s toe up not much progress so far. I am wondering do you think I could get a pair of short socks out of the one skein of koigu????

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dani
    Jul 12, 2006 @ 19:13:40

    Um, Koigu, IIR, is only 170 yds. Im thinking no on an adult pair from a skein (but I oculd be WAY wrong!!)

    Everything looks so yummy!! I need to get my dishes done and get to knitting (BTW, that chicken sounds GREAT!!)

    Reply

  2. Dipsy
    Jul 13, 2006 @ 03:53:55

    Hm, an adult pair of socks from one skein Koigu? I also doubt that – perhaps some ankle socks though? Lovely yarn though, can’t wait to see what you’re going to make with all of it!

    Reply

  3. knittyinpink
    Jul 13, 2006 @ 10:24:13

    What a lovely parcel of yarn 🙂 I’m also now very hungry after reading about Chicken Diane!

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Jul 18, 2006 @ 09:43:22

    you can get a pair of shorties I’d recommend splitting the yarn into even balls (hopfully you have a scale) then work toe up so you don’t need to worry about working the cuff first and not having enough. Of course your sock will differ with different feet sizes some someone may have shorter ankles then someone with a smaller foot may have a decent length.
    Glad you like your package! happy knitting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

