Sock problems

I have been working away on my toe up socks and then I got to the heel, now I am at a stand still. The pattern I am using is from magknits http://www.magknits.com/warm04/patterns/pomsquad.pdf  I am making them without the pom pom but the heel is a pain row 1 says k31, yf, sl 1, turn, row 2 says, yf,p30,sl 1, turn  This is where I am confused. What do I do with the slipped stitch????? I have done this about 5 times and I keep having to rip it out! What am I not doing??? If anyone can help I would appreciate it!

This is the only thing I ave knit for the last few days I have had a raging migraine since Friday. I have nothing else to report!! Hope everyone is having a great week!!Happy knitting!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley
    Jul 19, 2006 @ 17:38:18

    Pretty much you’re wrapping the stitch. So when you wrap it you knit 31, bright the yarn to the front, slip the next stitch (with the yarn still in front). Then you turn the work. From this pattern it sounds like you purl the wrapped stitch then keep purling across. Then when you get to the last stitch you’ll take the yarn to the back, slip the last stitch, turn the work and continue to the stitch before the wrapped stitch. You’ll keep wrapping stitches for awhile then after awhile you’ll have to knit the wrapped part with the stitch and that’s what will turn the heel.

    If that does help try this site. http://www.knitty.com/issuewinter02/FEATtiptoptoes.html

    It shows the short row toes which are similar to what you’re doing on the heels. It might help you to look at some of the pictures there. If that doesn’t help post a picture of what you’re doing, chances are you’re doing it correctly.

    Reply

  2. Becky
    Jul 19, 2006 @ 18:01:09

    I’m right where you are on my toe-ups. I finally left my pattern and am using a book. So far it is going fine. Good luck!

    Reply

  3. Coarine
    Jul 20, 2006 @ 10:42:47

    Mandy, I think you just leave the slipped stitich slipped … I believe that it is there for later when you have to pick up sts … When I have done heals and I have to slip sts I just leave them because when you do the next row you will probally knit that st (of course I am just guessing because I don’t have the pattern to look at)

    Good Luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

