Something old and something new

Last night I finally got my booga bag finished that is for my tote exchange pal I had to make a bigger strap. The whole thing felted way too much, but the bag came out really good just a little smaller than I had hoped and the first strap went from 6′ to 5″ so I made another and this time I felted by hand instead of machine and it came out much better!! I’ll show you when my pal gets it I want to keep it some what of a surprise! I started a new project last night I started on a pair of knucks from knitty.com I am using black alpaca. I really like the way they are turning out I think these are going to be what I make for my niece’s for christmas this year. I am very pleased with these. I got my mittens felted the other day and they are going to need to be felted again. I am doing these by hand so they do shrink too much and I can get a perfect fit that way! So when they are finished I will post them right now they are not looking their best! I am off to finish my knucks! Happy knitting!! Have a great weekend!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. firefly8868
    Oct 06, 2006 @ 12:09:07

    Looks intriguing!

    ~firefly

    Reply

  2. Stealth Sock
    Oct 06, 2006 @ 12:18:10

    I’ve been wanting to do mittens for a long time.

    Hey, you doing those gloves with 2 circulars? How cool! I’m skeered of gloves…they look complicated.

    Reply

  3. Becky
    Oct 06, 2006 @ 16:29:41

    Alpaca — yum! Those will be a nice gift. Did you really mean that the strap went from six feet to five inches? That’s incredible! Felting is so fun — and soooo unpredictable.

    Reply

  4. Tina in Wonderland
    Oct 06, 2006 @ 17:40:03

    I can’t wait to see your felted bag turned out!

    Your knucks are lookin’ good, too. How hard are gloves to knit, anyway? When I asked my 3 kids what kind of mittens they wanted, my 16-year-old asked for gloves instead. If they are very had to do, she may just have to settle for mittens!

    Reply

  5. kat
    Oct 07, 2006 @ 10:24:16

    when you felt by hand are you using a felting needle or some other method? I have a couple things that just need a little more felting & have a felting needle so wonder if that’s what I should do.

    Reply

  6. rhelynn
    Oct 15, 2006 @ 22:54:01

    Very nice! I’ve just finished my first experimental glove – and it turned out pretty well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

