My mail man likes me

I got home from Chandler’s cub scouts meeting with even less of a voice then I had when I left and I found a package from Lisa Souza waiting on me!! Yay!!!! One for me and on for my Sock-ret pal! So I can show you what I got for me!  The picture doesn’t do the yarn justice! Then I got up this morning and the UPS man left a box on my back porch from The Brown Sheep Company. I had sent them an email about making a donation of mill ends to Caps for a Cure. So they sent me a box of Cones! Now how do I split cones up between people in the group? Any suggestions?? This is what I got and I love them for doing it!  It is very soft and nice yarn.

And since it is Socktoberfest I thought I would flash my sock yarn stash and post my questions that Lolly asked  so here is my stash  Wow I didn’t realize that I had that much! Oh well! 

When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?  I started making socks this past summer. I taught myself I wanted to take a class but there was never any classes when I had time.

What was your first pair? How have they “held up” over time? My first pair of sock were theseThey didn’t hold up I had to frog them but that is ok because I have gotten much better since then!

What would you have done differently?  I would have really learned the kitchner stitch insted of just winging it. Maybe they would have turned out better.

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed? So far I have used Trekking XXL which I love Lorna’s Laces one of my favorites, Interlacement’s Tiny Toe’s, Opal really starting to love, Schaffer Anne how can you say anything bad about this yarn, and Knit Picks.

Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method? I don’t know how to crochet so I knit my socks  tried using DPN’s  and wow lets just say it’s not for me!! so I magic loop all my socks.

Which kind of heel do you prefer? (flap? or short-row?)  I like doing the heel flap better than the short row my short row always has holes in it.

How many pairs have you made? 11 pairs

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dorothy B
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 16:29:13

    That’s a pretty great sock yarn stash and some very pretty yarns.

    If you have access to a ball winder and a food scale that measures in ounces, you could simply wind a bunch of 4 ounce balls and hand them out that way. You could also contact your LYS, tell them what you need and what the yarn is for and see if they can help you with the winding and measuring part of it.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 01:44:51

    That’s what I get for waiting so late to get to my bloglines. Dorothy suggested just what I had in mind. I don’t know how many people you generally send out yarn to, but if it works out, you could just send a cone to each person, unless it’s more difficult to ship that way. In that case, you could just wind the yarn off and then ship it. This donation is so great. The group really has taken off and grown a bunch.

    Reply

  3. Sourire11
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 13:30:46

    that’s a wonderful donation from brown sheep! I will totally use the fact that they are a nice, giving company to rationalize buying more of their yarn! I haven’t checked the caps for a cure website in awhile now… I’m going to go do that now…

    Reply

  4. Melissa
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 14:33:12

    Is that Lime N Violet sock yarn!! Squeeee!!! I have some too, but I haven’t found that perfect pattern yet.

    Reply

  5. Dipsy D.
    Oct 15, 2006 @ 05:23:29

    Wow, all those yarn goodies! I can’t pick a fave for the life of me, I love them all – and what a wonderful donation from Brown Sheep!

    Reply

  6. Jenn
    Oct 15, 2006 @ 10:12:27

    Wow, the yarn for the group is wonderful! That was so nice of them to do that! The other yarn looking lovely also!

    Reply

  7. dreamcatcher
    Oct 17, 2006 @ 19:16:26

    I love the new yarn, and yay for Brown Sheep for sending such a huge box of yarn!

    Reply

  8. Michelle
    Oct 17, 2006 @ 21:40:07

    WOW! What a nice thing for them to do!! Looks like you have enough for a lifetime!

    Reply

  9. Dorothy B
    Oct 18, 2006 @ 12:52:17

    Your scarf is done and will be in the post on Friday!

    Reply

  10. Stealth Sock
    Oct 18, 2006 @ 20:53:30

    Dang girl! That’s some stash you got going there.

    Reply

  11. Hope Owens
    Oct 24, 2006 @ 21:07:42

    Wow, my eyes are spinning taking in all this delicious yarn.

    Is the Magic Loop method using circular needles? I’m going to take a knit-from-the-toe-up sock class in November.

    Reply

Leave a comment