Sock Drama

I had a WTF moment and I am still pretty ticked. I have been working on the jaywalkers all day and I got to the toe decease and guess what  this is what I have left from the first ball did I mention that I only have 2 balls and of course this color is discontinued it is Regia Crazy color #5260, I did find it but I have to spend $25 for the $2.00 yarn so now I am debating what to do my pal has bigger feet than I do so I will need another ball do I suck it up and spend the $25 or rip out and find a different yarn and start over? Any thoughts? I really don’t want to spend the extra money I have already used my yarn budget for this month and that would put me over, but I am so close to finishing the first sock it is driving me crazy. Tell me what you think Joe thinks I am crazy for ranting about a sock, so he is no help! 🙂 I told him the other knitters would understand my dilemma. 🙂

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sb
    May 18, 2007 @ 23:15:00

    A couple of thoughts: if you are right at the toe decreases, you could knit the toes of both socks in a contrasting color (I think dark blue would be lovely with that yarn…unless my monitor is lying to me about color again). Or what yarn are you using? Maybe someone in Sockapalooza has it in their stash and is willing to help a fellow ‘Loozer out! After all, we are all sock addicts and serious sock-yarn hoarders.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    May 18, 2007 @ 23:59:40

    Argh! I feel your pain. Hmmm…contrasting toes or begging someone who has leftovers would work well. If I had some, I would gladly send it to you.

    I looked about and found some sources where you do not have to have that minimum $25 order. Still, if you could spend those $25, the $2 price for the yarn is great. Of course, I understand how it is when you are trying to stay on budget. Here are these other sources:

    There is an eBay auction for this yarn if you want to wait:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/2-SCHACHENMAYR-REGIA-6-crazy-sock-knitting-yarn-5260_W0QQitemZ270121209244QQihZ017QQcategoryZ36593QQcmdZViewItem

    It is on sale for $6.30 here (I didn’t check shipping charges):
    http://www.vintageknits.net/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=65_115_116&products_id=378

    Or you can Buy It Now on eBay for $5.25 + $1.95 shipping here:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/25-off-Schachenmayr-Regia-6-Ply-Crazy-Color-5260_W0QQitemZ260101612140QQihZ016QQcategoryZ75569QQcmdZViewItem

    If you decide to start over with different yarn, just remember that you love knitting, and this is an opportunity to knit more. I think I’ve finally assembled all the yarn for my Sockapalooza4 Pal’s socks. If you were my pal, I know you would love these socks. I want to knit a pair for myself.

    Reply

  3. gershamabob
    May 19, 2007 @ 02:44:04

    …or you could rip back, and do fewer repeats of the pattern on the leg? I suppose that depends on whether you think a short leg is OK. 🙂

    Reply

  4. kissmyfrog
    May 19, 2007 @ 04:09:20

    I was going to make the same suggestion as Gershamabob, but SB is totally right. Put the word out on the Pligg (gotta love the Pligg!), and in the unlikely event that nobody can help you out, go with the contrast toes!

    Reply

  5. Seanna Lea
    May 19, 2007 @ 06:23:29

    I would just do the toes in a contrasting color or see if you have something that pretty closely matches one of the colors in the sock (like the yellow). I do that all the time, and other than having two more ends to weave in, it isn’t that bad at all.

    Reply

  6. Bonnie
    May 19, 2007 @ 06:44:25

    Make the toes in a different color! I love that look.

    Reply

  7. knitwhimsies
    May 19, 2007 @ 07:11:25

    I agree with the previous comments. Find a solid yarn that matches one of the colors and knit the toe with that. Personally I would go with the dark color (appears blue on my monitor) but any one would work. That way you don’t have to rip out anything and you will have enough for both socks.

    Reply

  8. J. Denae
    May 19, 2007 @ 08:02:51

    I agree with the new yarn for the toe, but I’d go with a pink toe… and Knitpicks has some inexpensive solid sock yarn in lots of colors.

    Reply

  9. Laura
    May 19, 2007 @ 08:35:29

    I have some of that yarn in the stash if you need it. It doesn’t have a plan right now, so I can send you a ball (I know people with tiny feet). Just send me an email at llinnema@gmail.com if you get desperate.

    Reply

  10. Kim
    May 19, 2007 @ 10:34:00

    I was going to comment about making the toes a different color but I see that a lot of others already had that idea. I love that look. Let us know what you decide.

    Reply

  11. Tonia
    May 21, 2007 @ 15:01:13

    Oh I so feel your pain. I say to get a plain color from the stash and make the toe a different color. I have done that before. I have done the cuff, heel and toe in a solid and the leg and foot in a varigated. I loved the way that they turned out too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

