Ok so the drama continues

Well the toe is fine I like the different color. I cast off and looking at the picture it looks great jaywalkerbut it’s way too wide!! It is 11″ around I don’t know what to do now I cast on the other one with a bigger needle but it looked even worse. So now I am back to square one not knowing what to do my pals feet are not that wide and if I go down a needle size the fabric will be so stiff that it won’t be comfortable to wear. Has anyone had this problem? If so what have you done to fix it? I am almost at the point a picking another yarn but I don’t want to give up yet. So for now I am knitting other things until I find the right answer for these socks.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. firefly8868
    May 22, 2007 @ 21:36:28

    Seems you should adapt the pattern to use fewer stitches around so you can continue with the same size needles you are currently using.

    That’s what I would try.

    Good luck,
    firefly

    Reply

  2. sb
    May 22, 2007 @ 21:47:30

    What size jaywalkers did you do-the smaller or the larger size? What is the yarn and what size needles did you use? What gauge are you getting? Is the entire sock too big, or does the calf fit OK and just the foot is too big? This is totally fixable without changing the needle size, but more info would be helpful to give a real solution. Without knowing the details, subtracting a stitch from each pattern repeat is the way to make this pattern smaller…but that may be too small, so you might want to subtract a stitch from just some of the repeats…

    Reply

  3. knitty-kat
    May 23, 2007 @ 09:45:58

    it really depends on what size needles you are already using. 11 inches around is pretty big, so I would think that smaller needles should be ok. The other thing that you can do is incorporate ribbing down the sides of the feet. This works great for socks that need to be narrower at the heal and wider at the ball of the foot.

    I think the colours look great though!!

    good-luck

    Reply

  4. fabienne
    May 23, 2007 @ 13:27:12

    for jaywalkers you can change reduce the number of knit stitches in the repeat to size them down. the colors are fun!

    Reply

  5. Dipsy D.
    May 23, 2007 @ 19:54:32

    Oy, I’m sorry that the sock is too big, it sure looks amazingly good! I also think that you should adapt the pattern to fewer stitches – a little math should do the trick here so that you could continue with the same yarn as well as the same needle size.

    Reply

  6. Sarah
    May 23, 2007 @ 21:08:13

    First off, the match of yarns and colors looks great. Please share details of where the sock is too big around. Is it too big everywhere? How about some gauge details? We can solve this. Just set the socks aside, knit a Shedir, and everything will be perfect 😉 Yep, that’s my solution for everything lately. I’m just kidding about that last bit. Seriously, we can help you figure out a good solution to keep Jaywalkin’ along.

    Reply

  7. Kim
    May 25, 2007 @ 06:27:14

    Aren’t jaywalkers da bomb!! I used KnitPick 100% Sock Merino – blank and dyed it with rit dye and salt. Just playing with the dye pot one day; and I love neopolitan ice cream ta da! There they are! Thanks for the comment. I am so surprised when someone actually reads my rambling. 😉

    Reply

  8. Tonia
    May 27, 2007 @ 19:19:08

    The only thing that I could think to tell you is to decrease you stitches in the foot. Maybe contact grumperina for help. I am sure that she would be more than willing to try and help.

    Reply

  9. Shannah
    May 29, 2007 @ 22:09:11

    I like the Hufflepuff HPSs!!! Very nice… I’m Hufflepuff, you know… Hmmmm…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

